NaPoWriMo Day 10 – in which I find myself

Treble ClefNaPoWriMo Day 10

I wrote this poem, that then turned into a song, in quite a short space of time.  It became a bit of a song that told in words, the journey that I am on to find myself.

I hear you calling my name

Like a whisper again

My soul itself hears it first

My body aches with the hurt

and I promise you

I’m coming soon

my heart

 

You hide away from the pain

you fear it won’t be the same

or maybe it will not change

my thoughts run wild like a flame

and I’m onto you

and all over you

my heart

 

We were joined from the start

until we were torn apart

I’ve been searching so long

I couldn’t go where you’d gone

and I see you now

my eyes are clear

my heart

 

I’ve hated you,

I’ve yearned you

I’ve warred with you

drawn swords with you

I wanted you

I hunted you

I needed you

I fell for you

and I missed you

without ever really knowing

what it was that I was longing for

 

Amy Walters 2012

 

 

About amywriting

I love words. I love the way they sound, the meaning they have, the way that they are used. I love their power, their creativity and how descriptive and evocative they can be. Any chance that I get to be creative and use words well gets me very excited. I love poetry, song, art, music, photography, baking, creating, experimenting and laughing!

Posted on April 10, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

