NaPoWriMo Day 5 – in which I share a poem called ‘Hands Tied’

Writing poetry is hard, especially when you love poetry and are surrounded by so many poems that you love. Poems which inspire and intimidate in equal measure. It’s hard when you read a poem that perfectly sums up how you feel about something and then try and write something yourself about how you feel. It’s this attitude though, that kept me from writing for so long, believing that everything worth saying had been said by someone else, so it wasn’t worth me trying.

writing image 012

Since then, I’ve learnt to value my own voice more. But today’s post begins with this….

The Perfect Cup

It is time for me

to see the flaws

of myself

and stop being alarmed

It is time for me

to halt my drive for perfection

and to accept my blemishes

It is time for me

to receive slowing evolving growth

the kind that comes from God

and pays no heed

to my panicky pushing

It is time for me

to embrace my humanness

to love my incompleteness

It is time for me

to cherish the unwanted

to welcome the unknown

to treasure the unfulfilled

If I wait to be

perfect before I love myself

I will always be unsatisfied

and ungrateful

If I wait until

all the flaws, chips

and cracks disappear

I will be the cup

that stands on the shelf

and is never used

The perfect cup by Joyce Rupp from The Cup of Our Life, Ave Maria Press 2006

And one from me…..

Every day when I watch you walk away

I can tell that I’ve won by the way I played

Save your songs for the star crossed loved ones

I’m moving on to the far fetched unknown

Every day as I climb I can see you clearer

I walk alone with the moon and the stars above

The ticking clock hypnotised with the flow of blood

Step by step carried on to the living flame

I reach out to be burnt I don’t feel the pain

I think I love the taste of your cold cold kiss

Our twisted love affair is more than I can bare

You keep a hold of me day and night

I want to run but it feels so exciting

Your dark dark soul is what is so enticing

Amy Walters.

If you want to hear this poem set to music, you can do that here 

About amywriting

I love words. I love the way they sound, the meaning they have, the way that they are used. I love their power, their creativity and how descriptive and evocative they can be. Any chance that I get to be creative and use words well gets me very excited. I love poetry, song, art, music, photography, baking, creating, experimenting and laughing!

Posted on April 5, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I love this poem. Wow, I actually imagined something different by way of a song though. I think this is really….sexy. It’s all in interpretation I guess. Thanks for sharing.

    • Thanks so much! I did wonder about not linking to the song, because it’s so different reading a poem to hearing a song, plus it’s a terrible recording! Thanks again for commenting.

Leave a Reply

