I am a woman reclaiming my body…

Woman Arise

My body, at last, I claim you! I live here! I am not some discarnate spirit using just any vehicle to get around. I live in the full, round, soft, juicy, wet, strong, agile, capable, spirit filled, nurturing, graceful, flowing, comforting, lovely, smooth, dancing, singing, playing, working, praying body of a woman.

 

For so many years I rejected my body because it isn’t perfect according to the standards of my culture. I have been unfaithful to it, letting others opinions turn me against it, allowing others to use it without love, without tenderness. Because I myself rejected my body, I didn’t protect it, didn’t demand that it be treated like the precious gift that it is. My body, the temple of my soul, deserves better from me.

 

I reclaim this body. I reclaim these eyes and their vision; this mouth and its words; these arms and legs and their hugging and dancing. I reclaim these breasts and their magnificent fullness; I reclaim these wide, round hips and strong fleshy thighs and their waking on earth. I reclaim this vagina and all its secret folds and this womb and its bleeding. I reclaim all of my body parts, named and unnamed.

 

This body is a miracle; it is the first gift of the Creator to me – my birthday present. 

 

I take this body to have and to hold, in sickness and in health, to honour and love and cherish until death do us part. 

 

I am a woman reclaiming my body

 

(Author Unknown)

About amywriting

I love words. I love the way they sound, the meaning they have, the way that they are used. I love their power, their creativity and how descriptive and evocative they can be. Any chance that I get to be creative and use words well gets me very excited. I love poetry, song, art, music, photography, baking, creating, experimenting and laughing!

Posted on November 6, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

    • I love Maya Angelou! Love these lines “Does it come as a surprise, That I dance like I’ve got diamonds, At the meeting of my thighs?”
      How can women find themselves and love themselves in the midst of so many lies about who they should be, and how others are! It’s taken me so long!

Leave a Reply

