Can Meatloaf Ever Be A Lemon Sorbet?

Tonight I had an absolute blast listening and singing along to old songs whilst I was writing. Which led me to wonder what other people listen to when they write.

Music is so powerful, it can do almost anything, if art, literature, music and culture are all food for the soul then I think music must be the palate cleanser. A lemon sorbet if you will!  It’s very nature seems to wipe away all of the days tastes, most especially the things that have left a bad taste for you.  It’s like a shape shifter, constantly evolving along with your mood, there is a song for everything and every feeling that you need invoked or drummed up. Like a shaman calling on spirit guides to take us into another plain of existence for a time.

Some songs immediately take us back to a specific time or place and you can almost swear you were back there again. That nervous 16 year old at the school dance, or the 21 year old you arriving at adulthood, or the 30 year old grown up pledging a commitment for life. A whole catalogue of songs stored in our brains ready to unleash a multitude of memories at the first few notes heard.

And I am sure after all that you are wondering what my song of choice was tonight?  I took a trip down memory lane accompanied by meatloaf! Not your average lemon sorbet I grant you, but what an epic lyricist and his songs have such an operatic quality that take you on a journey, with a captivating beginning, substantial middle and a ending that is beautiful and fitting!

So tell me – what is your music of choice to write to?

About amywriting

I love words. I love the way they sound, the meaning they have, the way that they are used. I love their power, their creativity and how descriptive and evocative they can be. Any chance that I get to be creative and use words well gets me very excited. I love poetry, song, art, music, photography, baking, creating, experimenting and laughing!

Posted on June 29, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

